IWC Board & Steering Committee

Paving the Way to Our Future

This major effort is lead by our dedicated Board of Directors who help shape the vision for the future and our Steering Committee, a collective of persons with a broad expanse of skills and experience. Together these folks make things happen at the Iowa Wildlife Center. Meet them now. 

Board of Directors

  • Terry VanDeWalle
    Senior Biologist
    Stantec, Inc.
    Independence, IA
  • Carole Teator
    Director of Programs
    Trees Forever
    Iowa City, IA
  • Thomas Boes, J.D.
    Bradshaw Law Office
    Des Moines, IA
  • James Pease, PhD
    Professor Emeritus
    Dept. of Natural Resource Ecology & Management, Iowa State University
    Ames, IA
    What humans have done to our environment, humans can take steps to rectify the problems. The Iowa Wildlife Center and the future clinic at WildWay go along way toward developing this healing process in central Iowa.
  • Tom Colvin
    Executive Director
    Animal Rescue League of Iowa
    Des Moines, IA
  • Elaine Thrune
    Past President, current Board Member
    National Wildlife Rehabilitators Association
    St. Cloud, MN
  • Kristen Obbink, DVM
    Post Doc Research Associate
    Center For Food Security/Public Health, Iowa State University, College of Veterinary Medicine
    Ames, IA

Steering Committee

  • Mark Ackelson
    President Emeritus
    Iowa Natural Heritage Foundation
    Des Moines, IA
  • Julie Blanchong, PhD
    Assistant Professor
    Dept. of Natural Resource Ecology & Management, Iowa State University
    Ames, IA
  • Beth Brown
    Licensed Wildlife Rehabilitator
    Osceola, IA
  • John Burnett
    Student Services Specialist
    Dept. of Natural Resource Ecology & Management, Iowa State University
    Ames, IA
  • Rebecca Christoffel
    Sole Proprieter
    Christoffel Conservation
    Madison, WI
  • Gaylan Crim
    Information Technology Support Worker
    Iowa Department of Public Safety
    Des Moines, IA
  • Lloyd Crim
    Field-Lab Technician, Retired
    Plant Introduction Farm, Iowa State University
    Ames, IA
  • Bruce Ehresman
    Wildlife Diversity Program, Iowa Department of Natural Resources
    Boone, IA
  • Erin Rollenhagen
    Entrepreneurial Technologies, LLC
    West Des Moines, IA
  • Derrick Grimmer, PhD
    Founder (retired)
    Iowa PowerFilm, Inc.
    Errington, BC
  • Karen Hansen
    Webster County Conservation Board
    Ft. Dodge, IA
  • Mike Havlik
    Dallas County Conservation
    Perry, IA
  • Lisa Hein
    Senior Director for Conservation Programs
    Iowa Natural Heritage Foundation
    Des Moines, IA
  • Andrew Hockenson
    Boone County Conservation Board
    Boone, IA
  • Roxanne Jacobson
    Iowa Veterinary Referral Services
    Des Moines, IA
  • Loren Lown
    Resource Manager
    Polk County Conservation Board
    Granger, IA
  • Kevin Nordmeyer
    Associate Principal
    BNIM Architects
    Des Moines, IA
  • Mike Wallace
    Executive Director
    Dallas County Conservation Board
    Perry, IA
  • Wes Wiese
    Hardin County Conservation Board
    Ackley, IA